100 Push-ups in 100 Days

My friend Jen told me about this challenge she has started.  Doing 100 push-ups in 100 days.  As I said in a previous post, you can break this up into 5 or 10 or 25 – whatever increment you desire – over the course of the day.  The point is that each day you do 100 push-ups.

The other version – the one that Will is theoretically doing – is 1 push-up on day 1, 2 push-ups on day 2, 3 push-ups on day 3, etc on up to 100 push-ups on day 100.  This morning I was telling our trainer how difficult the 100 push-ups was for me.  I assumed since I could break it up throughout the day it would not be that big of a deal, but by yesterday my arms were tired.  He told me I could do the gradual build version if I wanted to as they add up pretty quickly.  I said that I really wanted to stick with what I was currently doing.  After all, I’ve already done two days in a row with 100 push-ups, so might as well keep going.  Yeah, it is hard, but that is part of the point.

When I first started at Crossfit in May of 2011, I could only do push-ups against a bench.  Some people start off doing push-ups against a wall – push-ups are hard if you are not used to doing them regularly.  Heck, I’ve been doing them pretty regularly and I still think they are hard.  Gradually, I graduated to knee-pushups, but then those became too easy.  Then I went to half knee push-ups.  I lower down from plank all the way and then with my knees on the floor I push back up.

I have not really felt like I have gotten noticeably better at these half knee push-ups and I’ve been doing them forever.  It feels like at least a year.  I have decided that I am tired of not doing full push-ups.  The whole point of this 100 day challenge for me is that I hope mid-way through it or at least by the very end of it, I will be able to do regular push-ups, no knees involved.  I am also hoping to build up my upper body strength.

As an extra, I’ve decided that today I am going to fold in 100 sit-ups a day, too.  My goal there is to be able to do 100 without stopping.  Right now I can do about 50 without stopping, but those last three are really difficult.

I have a little notebook that I am using to keep track of these two 100 a day challenges.  It is so easy to forget what number you are on that writing it down as soon as you finish a set is really helpful.  Also, since I am writing it down, that keeps me accountable.  I don’t want to get to day 14 and stop.  If I am keeping track through a written record, I won’t.

I feel like I get a lot accomplished in the three days a week I work out at Crossfit Simple, but I need/want something that I do every single day.  I think this will fit that need.  It has already changed the way I watch television.  You can do sit-ups and push-ups while watching tv.  It is more entertaining to have something that you are watching while working on the 100’s.

They put the 100 push-ups a day challenge on the board at Crossfit.  So far there are only a couple of people signed up.  I am hoping more people jump on board with this.  I need someone other than Jen and our trainer to whine to about my arms hurting!  😉

Leave a Reply

