New Year’s Resolutions

I know that most people eschew New Year’s Resolutions, but while I have done this in the past, I have found that actually I enjoy the process. Sometimes I succeed, sometimes I fail, but I think it is important to try.

I feel like resolutions are basically more goals to shoot for throughout the year than resolutions. Sometimes you succeed, sometimes you fail, but trying is what counts. It isn’t always the destination, but the journey.

Mine this year are pretty simple.

1. Complete the Whole 30 Paleo diet challenge – this is 30 days of strict paleo eating. Do this through signing up for the Crossfit Carbondale challenge starting January 6.
2. Workout 5 days a week instead of just three. This should preferably be five days of Crossfit with 2 days of yoga, but if it is three days Crossfit and two days of yoga, I will still pretty pleased with it. But I am shooting to be ecstatic by doing the former.
3. Lose 60-70 pounds. 70 would be preferable, but I am shooting for the range of 60-70. Giving myself leeway on the number on the scale as long as muscle mass looks good and fat disappears.
4. Get my name on the board at Crossfit for weightlifting. I don’t care what for, I just want to be on the board.
5. Make drinking alcohol a special occasion only event (i.e. once or twice a month only). It wrecks the diet (for me) and costs money better saved.
6. Train for the Spartan Sprint and beat last year’s time by at least an hour.
7. Climb the rope at Crossfit by the end of the year. This should be doable if I accomplish #3.
8. Run a mile without stopping to walk.
9. Blog regularly – at least once a month. This is more a write more for me and less for other people kind of deal.
10. Read more books, watch less television. Book club will help with this goal.
11. Work on pursuing happiness instead of avoiding depression. Focusing on the happiness will change the focus and thus the actions.

That is about it, but I reserve the right to add more as I think of them. Hope everyone has a great New Year’s Day and a splendid 2014!

Leave a Reply

