Metallica’s One

I have thousands of reasons that I love my husband.

The first time I pulled over in the middle of a highway to save a turtle, instead of freaking out as most people did at this point my life, he just jumped out of the car and got the turtle.

Being on the same page matters to me.

Today I woke up at 2 am and decided to get some grocery shopping done as grocery stores aren’t terribly busy at 2 am and I do hate dealing with people or crowds.  On the way there, Metallica’s One came on the radio.

Growing up in the 80’s and 90’s, MTV still played music videos and I watched the hell out of MTV.  I was never a big Metallica fan, as my taste tended more towards grunge, the Smiths, the Cure, and classic rock, but One was just fantastic.

Part of what had me watch all of the video every time it aired (and it was on a lot) was the video had scenes from the movie “Johnny Got His Gun” with Jason Robards.  This was back before DVD’s, so I tried to find the movie on VHS to no avail.

I should mention, this was before Amazon.com, or google, or the very easy internet highway of information.  You had to work extra hard to find stuff back then.  You had to call people, and look things up.  Actual, real leg work.

Now I’ve always been a nerd, proudly so, and when you cannot find the movie, but you discover the book exists, you read the book.  Dalton Trumbo, who was played by Bryan Cranston, wrote the book “Johnny Got His Gun” and I read it when I was about 14 years old.  (Dalton Trumbo was blacklisted during the McCarthy era and was simply fascinating as a writer and an historical figure)

Fast forward 6 years when I meet my husband.  He’s reading “Johnny Got His Gun” and is the first person I’ve ever met who has read it.  To make him even more impressive, he had seen the movie, too – a big shout-out to Murphysboro’s RJ Electronics for having cool stuff.  Hubby actually is a pretty big Metallica fan, but he had the same reaction I had to seeing the video.  He was smart enough to read the book for 15 minutes at a time to prevent becoming too depressed, whereas 14 year old me devoured it and then was depressed for weeks after.

The point of all of this is that “One” was one of the first common ground areas I had with my husband so when I hear it on the radio, I always think romantic thoughts of him, not horrible thoughts of war.

Romance is in the eye of the beholder.

Leave a Reply

